Blame

One of the most unhelpful places to dwell when experiencing OCD type anxiety is blame.  After all, what good does it do to blame someone else or even yourself for your OCD?  There are no villians in this game.  And even if there were, blaming them would solve nothing for you.

Yes, life circumstances may aggravate your tendency towards OCD anxiety flare ups.  But if you are like me, you cannot really pin OCD down on one thing.  Is it genetic?  Perhaps.  Four of my closest relatives have some form of anxiety, so there is a strong argument for genetics in my case.  Or for socialization…

Is it a response to childhood events or stresses?  Is it the body’s way of dealing with unresolved psychological issues?  

Perhaps it is all of these and more.  I could go on and list possible causes.  None of this really helps me if I am in the mindset of placing blame on something or someone.

I only see a light at the end of the tunnel when I take ownership of my life.  

I’m not talking about waiting until things are perfect.  I am talking about accepting that I have OCD symptoms, thoughts, feelings, episodes, etc, etc.  I accept it.  I acknowledge it.  I don’t try to assign blame.  But I do all I can to mitigate the effects of OCD in my life.

Here is a quote I like: ”  You must take personal responsibility.  You cannot change the circumstances, the seasons, or the wind, but you can change yourself.  That is something you have charge of.”  Jim Rohn

I know nothing about Jim Rohn.  But I agree with his statement.  

When we as OCD sufferers take personal responsibility, it doesn’t mean we try to change the fact that we struggle with OCD.

 It doesn’t mean that if we are somehow irresponsible if we have OCD.

OCD is like the circumstances, the seasons, and the wind.  They cannot be controlled.

But we CAN control ourselves.  We are not OCD.  We are separate from our circumstances. 

I believe that OCD will not survive us.  I believe I will outlive my OCD.  I will go on and OCD will be no more.  The eternal conquers all.

So what does taking responsibility mean?  I think it means living my life.  OCD is whispering to me today.  But I have kids to nurture, a home to keep, people to reach out to and love.  So today, I take responsibility by pressing on through the OCD messages my brain sends my way.  

And remembering with a smile (because today I can smile) that I am not OCD.

10 thoughts on “Blame

  1. That was very nice to read . It put things in perspective with where my own mind is right now . I am still stuck in the habbit of figuring out why I have my condition, wich is ultimately just another attempt in seeking a definite answer as the loop of my pure o often repeats itself .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It can take years for someone to overcome the propensity to blame themselves or others for their OCD, I know it did me. If only I was 10 again and I did whatever I could to get myself to seek help, even in 1984 when there wasn’t much help, if only I could go back. But I can’t. It took quite a number of years to stop feeling guilty about not being able to do more when I was at a helpless age. Now I just feel more sad for a brief time when I think about it, nothing more, and just move on with my life.

    Like

  3. Well – I gave myself that time to grieve for the lost functioning and the things that might have been and then over time it eventually did lost it’s importance. I think I just learned to accept what happened and where I am in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment